cdn mobile

Globe media awards winners bared

November 29,2016 - 02:07 PM

The winners of 5th Globe Media Excellence Awards-Mindanao with Globe SVP for Corporate Communications Yoly Crisanto (second row, center). (CONTRIBUTED PHOTO)

The winners of 5th Globe Media Excellence Awards-Mindanao with Globe SVP for Corporate Communications Yoly Crisanto (second row, center). (CONTRIBUTED PHOTO)

Globe Telecom announced the winners of the 5th Globe Media Excellence Awards – Mindanao who have shown exemplary communication skills in promoting sustainable development and bringing social issues to the attention of the public via print, broadcast, or digital media.

The awards covered media organizations in four major cities in the region, namely General Santos, Cagayan de Oro, Zamboanga and Davao.

The outstanding media professionals and digital media practitioners were feted during the awarding ceremonies held in Marco Polo Hotel last November 22. They bested 432 other entries in the 12 categories.

“The critical role of media organizations and online communities in forming and shaping public opinion makes it imperative for organizations like Globe to institutionalize an award-giving body that recognizes outstanding, incisive, and impactful reportage. We see GMEA as an opportunity to give back to our media friends and our blogger and influencer partners, the honor that they deserve as we collectively create a world that is purposive and wonderful,” said Yoly Crisanto, senior vice president, Globe Corporate Communications, in her opening remarks.

For this year, GMEA was anchored on Globe Telecom’s commitment to the United Nations’ Sustainable Development Goals to help create a Wonderful Philippines. The winning entries did not only embody quality and relevant content but also focused on any or a combination of four areas such as care for environment, care for people, positive societal impact, and digital nation.

Bagging the Reporter of the Year for Print award was Rhealyn Pojas of SunStar Davao who wrote “State of the Toilet 2015”. Reporter of the Year for TV went to ABS-CBN Davao’s Jean Claire Cornelio and her editor/videographer Erwin Marino for “Tinikaran – Sunog sa Mount Apo” while Marilou Manar of DXND was named Reporter of the Year for Radio for “Ketong.”

Explanatory/Investigative Story of the Year for Print was awarded to BusinessWeek Mindanao’s “Different parties, different strokes: Local polls (re)imagine CdO’s mental-health facility, program” written by Lina Reyes, while Explanatory/Investigative Story of the Year for TV was given to “The Lost Settlement of Himologan” of ABS-CBN Northern Mindanao’s PJ Dela Peña, together with his editor Jeffrey Faranal and videographer Bryanne Esin.

On the other hand, Public Affairs Story of the Year for Radio award was given to “HIV-AIDS Cases: Fast and Furious” of Big Jay Lagang of 105.9 Balita FM Davao.

Fred Lumba of Mindanao Bulletin – General Santos took home the Columnist of the Year Award for “Narco-politics threat.” On the other hand, Erwin Mascariñas of SunStar CDO got the Photojournalist of the Year Award for his entry “Bakwit School.”

Henrylito Tacio of The Edge Davao received the Reporter for Online New Portal Award for “Where have all our fish gone?” while Rob Gumba of Bob Trail Tales won Blogger of the Year Award for “When There are No longer Birds to Watch.”

Ace Morandante of Davao Today was chosen as Social Media Advocate of the Year for “Moment of Peace”; while “Davao Year End Poll Awards” of Davao Eagle Online won the Social Media Campaign of the Year.

All winners received a cash prize and a trophy each while their editors also received cash prizes.

Your subscription could not be saved. Please try again.
Your subscription has been successful.

Subscribe to our daily newsletter

By providing an email address. I agree to the Terms of Use and acknowledge that I have read the Privacy Policy.

Read Next

Disclaimer: The comments uploaded on this site do not necessarily represent or reflect the views of management and owner of Cebudailynews. We reserve the right to exclude comments that we deem to be inconsistent with our editorial standards.

TAGS: awards, Globe, journalists, Mindanao

We use cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. By continuing, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more, please click this link.