Batch 2003 is SHAABAA champion

By Jonas Rey N. Panerio |May 16,2018 - 09:25 PM

The victorious 2003 squad hoist the championship trophy of the SHAABAA Summer League.

BATCH 2003 came alive in the second half to nip 2015, 72-67, and claim the championship in the Sacred Heart Ateneo Alumni Basketball Athletic Association (SHAABAA) Summer League last Sunday at the Magis Eagles Arena in Canduman, Mandaue City.

Down 27-29 at the half to a spunky 2015 team, 2003 turned to its seasoned veterans Daryle Tan and Justin Huang for some firepower and the duo delivered, each tallying at least 20 points to give them the win and the title.

Tan, a wiry and athletic forward, had 22 points, 15 rebounds, three assists, two steals and a blocked shot while Huang muscled his way to 20 markers, 14 boards, four assists, two steals and a block.

NiƱo Araw-Araw led the way for 2015 with 28 points but got little support from the rest of his teammates as Steven Co had 11 on 4-of-13 shooting while Daniel Mayol managed just 10, making just three of his 12 attempts from the field.

Third place honors went the way of Batch 2000 as they beat 2007, 78-73.

Ramp model and real estate entrepreneur Joevince Canizares had himself quite the game as he exploded for an incredible 30 points, a remarkable 29 rebounds along with eight assists to get 2000 the win.

Read Next

Disclaimer: The comments uploaded on this site do not necessarily represent or reflect the views of management and owner of Cebudailynews. We reserve the right to exclude comments that we deem to be inconsistent with our editorial standards.

We use cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. By continuing, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more, please click this link.