By: Jonas N. Panerio December 07,2015 - 10:56 PM


Ica Maximo rules women’s U-18 race of Cebu Criterium C’ships

Multi-titled female rider Ana Patricia Maximo continues to assert herself in the local scene as she emerged with the title in the Women Juniors 18-under category of the Cebu Criterium Championships in Toledo City last Sunday.

The fundraiser dubbed the “Race for Nilo Barbalose,” for whose benefit the race was mounted, suffered an unfortunate road accident and is recovering from his injuries. Maximo, representing, razed the field and finished with a time of 29 minutes and 27 seconds, beating runners-up Aaliyah Mataragnon and Artem Enario.

The win allowed Maximo to bag the cash prize of P5,000.

Maximo credited her stint in Bohol last week, where she got to race against men, as a confidence booster.

“I’m so excited I was able to pull it off. Racing with men helped my confidence. I raced patiently during the early part of the race and just coasted along with the others,” shared the four-time medalist of the Philippine National Games.

She also praised the organizers for holding this race-for-a-cause event which offers equal prizes for men and women racers.

“We are very grateful to Keith DeFeibre for organizing this race not only for men but especially for women and juniors with equal prizes for both genders,” said the two-time SAC Cebu Sports awardee and grade 10 student of Sacred Heart School-Hijas de Cebu.

DeFeibre, one of the racing directors of Sea Otter Classic in Monterey, California, said he believes this is how races should be in Cebu.

“This is how we do cycling in America and I am bringing this experience to Cebu. Everyone should have equal opportunity to enjoy the sport, especially the women and junior riders,” said DeFeibre.

In other results, Oscar Rindole of Nueva Ecija claimed the title in the Men’s Open Road race with Southeast Asian Games medalist and Cebuano John Mier coming in second. Another Cebuano, Christian Cabonita, placed third.

The 45-and-above class Road race saw DeFeibre take the crown even as Cebuanos Philip Sainz and Rolando Pagnanawon taking second and third places, respectively. The Men’s 19-44 age group had Minglanilla-native Jonel Carcueva reign supreme while Lapu-Lapu’s own Rolly Cabaluna and Joseph Miller won second and third.

Batang Pinoy champion Yuan Chiongbian won the Men’s Junior 18-under title, beating Arjay Beato of Ormoc and Raymart Tampus of Lapu-Lapu City.

Read Next

Disclaimer: The comments uploaded on this site do not necessarily represent or reflect the views of management and owner of Cebudailynews. We reserve the right to exclude comments that we deem to be inconsistent with our editorial standards.

TAGS: Cebu, Cebu Criterium Championships, race, Toledo City,

We use cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. By continuing, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more, please click this link.