Sarah Geronimo and Alden Richards win big at Awit Awards 2016

Alden Richards  with his three awards

Alden Richards with his three awards

POPSTAR Royalty Sarah Geronimo and Pambansang Bae Alden Richards were among the big winners at Awit Awards 2016 held at Music Museum last Wednesday night, December 7.

Sarah took home the Album of the Year award for “The Great Unknown,” making this her second consecutive time to win the category following the
“Perfectly Imperfect” album last year.

Her victory also marks her 12th win at the music tilt.

Meanwhile, Alden brought home three major awards: Most Downloaded Artist, Most Downloaded Song for “Wish I May,” and the Best Selling  Album of the Year award for “Wish I May.” The album, a Diamond Record awardee, is under GMA Records.

Another big winner was singer-composer Ebe Dancel who was awarded with the following: Best World Music Recording for “Kasayaw,” Best Inspirational Recording for “Bawat Daan,” Best Christmas Recording for “Apat na Buwang Pasko” and Best Song Written for Movie/TV/Stage Play for “Ang Probinsyano” from TV series of the same title.

Some of the performers of the night were Sam Concepcion, Morrissette, The Company, Michael Pangilinan, and Marion Aunor. Aiza Seguerra’s number was one of the night’s most memorable performances. While playing the piano, she sang “Araw Gabi” which took home the Best Ballad Recording.

Sarah Geronimo

Sarah Geronimo

The complete list of winners:

Album of the Year: “The Great Unknown,” Sarah Geronimo
Song of the Year: “Bawat Daan” by Ebe Dancel
Best Performance by a Female Recording Artist: “Parang Wala Lang” by Tippy Dos Santos
Best Performance by a Male Recording Artist: “Paano Ko Sasabihin” by Thor Dulay
Best Collaboration: “Triangulo” by Thyro, Yumi and Jeric Medina
Best Performance by a Group Recording Artists: “LDR” by Harana
Best Performance by a New Female Recording Artist: “Sabi Sabi” by Kris Angelica
Best Performance by a New Male Recording Artist: “Mabuti Pa” by Daryl Ong
Best Performance by a New Group Recording Artists: “Imposible” by Gravity
Best Selling Album of the Year: “Wish I May” by Alden Richards
Best Pop Recording: “Free Fall Into Love” by Marion Aunor
Best Ballad Recording: “Araw Gabi” by Aiza Seguerra
Best Rock/Alternative Recording: “Firepower” by Bamboo
Best World Music Recording: “Kasayaw” by Ebe Dancel
Best Novelty Recording: “Siopao na Pag-ibig” by K.A. Antonio
Best Dance Recording: “Lala” by Yassi Pressman
Best Inspirational Recording: “Bawat Daan” by Ebe Dancel
Best Christmas Recording: “Apat na Buwang Pasko” by Ebe Dancel
Best Jazz Recording: “Pero” by Conscious & the Goodness
Best RnB Recording: “Parang Wala Lang” by Tippy Dos Santos
Best Song Written for Movie/TV/Stage Play: “Ang Probinsyano” from TV series “Ang Probinsyano by Ebe Dancel and Gloc-9
Best Instrumental Performance: “The Sound of Life” piano by Marvin Querido, trumpet by Roberto de Pano
Best Musical Arrangement: “Pero,” arranged by Jesser Sison and Conscious & the Goodness
Best Vocal Arrangement: “Waters of March” by Moy Ortiz
Best Engineered Recording: “Bawat Daan” by Mark Villar
Best Performance by a Child: “Believing in Magic” by Julia Concio
Best Album Package: “Greetings” by Callalily
Music Video of the Year: “Walang Anuman” by Nicole Asensio
Most Downloaded Song: “Wish I May” by Alden Richards
Most Downloaded Artist: Alden Richards
Dangal ng Musikang Pilipino Award: The Boyfriends
International Achievement Award: 4th Impact

TAGS: Alden Richards, award, awards, Awit Awards, Sarah Geronimo, singer, songs
Latest Stories
Most Read