BATCH 2021 stuns Batch 2013 in SHAABAA Season 27’s ‘battle of unbeaten teams’

shaabaa season 27

Virgil Maynard Uy slips through the defense of Rendell Senining in their SHAABAA Season 27 Game. | Photo from SHAABAA

CEBU CITY, Philippines — The FADI-Batch 2021 shocked the Division C defending champions, Nest Workspaces-Batch 2013, with a hard-fought 87-82 victory in the ongoing Sacred Heart Ateneo Alumni Basketball Athletic Association (SHAABAA) Season 27 on Wednesday evening, June 19, at the Magis Eagles Arena in SHS-AdC, Mandaue City.

However, it was a bittersweet victory for Batch 2021 after they were penalized with a default game by SHAABAA technical committee head Atty. Boyet Velez and chief of referees Rey Cañete for allegedly violating one of the tournament’s rules.

In a letter of protest submitted by Cebu Landmasters/CloudKart-Batch 2014, they pointed out Batch 2021’s failure to let three of its players who were on their bench see action in their June 16 game, which they won narrowly, 55-53.

This was a violation of the 2024 SHAABAA Rules and Regulations under Rule IV, No. 1, which requires all players present to be fielded in the game regardless of the duration of play for each player.

Due to this violation, the SHAABAA officials overturned their win on June 16, a day after they beat Batch 2013. As a result, they now have four wins with one defeat instead of an immaculate 5-0 record.

In their letter of response, Batch 2021, through their team captain Rey Marcus Fuentes IV, admitted to committing the infraction and did not contest the protest.

In addition to the default, the SHAABAA technical committee also fined Batch 2021 P5,000.

Despite the default, Batch 2021 secured a crucial win over Batch 2013 on Wednesday evening with Virgil Maynard Uy dropping 21 points with four rebounds and one assist, earning him the player of the game honor.

Josiah Villamayor put up a double-double with 12 points, 11 rebounds, and two assists for the winning squad, while Rey Marcus Fuentes IV added 14 points.

Batch 2013’s leading scorer Rendell Senining’s 43-point performance was spoiled as they absorbed their first defeat in five games. Emman Malazarte scored 19 points with six boards, while Arc Araw-Araw had 11 points in their losing effort.

Batch 2021 and Batch 2013 are now tied at the top of the Division C standings with identical 4-1 records.

Meanwhile, 04 The Win-Batch 2004 stretched their winning streak to 5-0 in Division B after routing ZLREJ Trading and Construction-Batch 2010, 71-55. Batch 2004’s Franco Augusto Te unleashed a fiery performance, scoring 26 points, grabbing 18 rebounds, dishing out five assists, and blocking three shots in their lopsided win.

In another Division B game, Insular Square-Batch 2005 defeated Radius One-Batch 2007, 62-57, behind Elddie Cabahug’s 23-point game.

Lastly, Xchange Forex-Batch 2018 edged Bright Lamps N’ Style-Batch 2022, 76-61. Benedict Andre Chua unloaded a double-double with 26 points, 13 rebounds, and three steals, while Andre Vincent Velasco fired 24 points in their convincing victory.


SHAABAA Season 27: Defending champ Batch 2013 starts hot

SHAABAA Division C’s ‘clash of unbeaten teams’ set on Wednesday

WNBA: Angel Reese says foul on Caitlin Clark a basketball play