Siloys win 2 more events

By: Dominic D. Yasay September 24,2016 - 11:12 PM

PRESS FREEDOM METAFIT ECO CHALLENGE/SEPT. 24, 2016: Team CDN siloy's Calvin Cordova, Santino Bonachita, Nestle Semilla, Victor Silva and Abone Borbon holding the championship trophy in the Press Freedom Metafit Eco Challenge with the Atty. jenette Japson (standing left) of Cebu Holdings and the coaches headed by Alan G. Choachuy (seated center)  .(CDN PHOTO/JUNJIE MENDOZA)

METAFIT ECO-CHALLENGE CHAMPIONS. Team Siloy’s Victor Anthony Silva (standing 2nd from left to 5th from left) hold aloft the champions trophy as they pose with Cebu Holdings Inc.’s Jeanette Japson (left) and coaches headed by Alan G. Choachuy (seated center). (CDN PHOTO/JUNJIE MENDOZA)

The Siloys won two more events in the week-long celebration of the 22nd Cebu Press Freedom Week.

CDN’s Venus Benting from the Credit and Collection Department, bagged the first place trophy of the five-kilometer fun run for the men’s division yesterday at the Cebu Business Park.

Later in the day, The five-man Team Siloy grabbed the overall championship trophy in the Metafit Eco-Challenge 2016 (See separate story on Page 32), which included a disaster response leg in the competition.

This is the second year that the Siloys won the competition.

The CDN team, which was made up of Sports Reporter Calvin Cordova, Business Reporter Victor Anthony V. Silva, Cebu City Hall Reporter Jose Santino Bunachita, Sports Correspondent Rabboni Borbon and Capitol Reporter Nestle L. Semilla, bested the other teams from GMA 7 which finished second, The Freeman third and Sun Star Cebu placed fourth.

The Metafit Eco-Challenge, which was organized by Cebu Holdings Inc., required the teams to go through five challenges – Stretcher Run, Waste Segregation, Bamboo Shelter, Walk and Bike and Question Answer.

CDN also won the Mr. and Ms. Press Freedom 2016 titles, the opening day dance competition, Globe Media Excellence Awards 2016 Reporter of the Year for Print and Online News Portal (bagged by Senior Reporter Ador Vincent Mayol) and Photojournalist of the Year award (won by Correspondent Ferdinand Edralin) which were all part of the string of activities during the Press Freedom Week Celebration.

Your subscription could not be saved. Please try again.
Your subscription has been successful.

Subscribe to our daily newsletter

By providing an email address. I agree to the Terms of Use and acknowledge that I have read the Privacy Policy.

Read Next

Disclaimer: The comments uploaded on this site do not necessarily represent or reflect the views of management and owner of Cebudailynews. We reserve the right to exclude comments that we deem to be inconsistent with our editorial standards.

TAGS: Cebu Daily News, Siloys

We use cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. By continuing, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more, please click this link.