cdn mobile

Fajardo gets historic third straight PBA MVP award

By: Calvin D. Cordova October 14,2016 - 08:07 PM

Cebuano center June Mar Fajardo of the San Miguel Beermen was named the 2016 PBA Most Valuable Player (MVP) in the annual The Leo Awards at the Araneta Coliseum.

Fajardo, a native of Pinamungajan town, southwest Cebu, became the first player in league history to win the most-coveted award for three straight years.

Fajardo also took home the Sportsmanship Award.

Meralco’s explosive guard Chris Newsome bagged the Rookie of the Year (ROY) award, while Rain or Shine’s Jericho Cruz snatched the Most Improved Player accolade.

Fajardo was joined in the Mythical Five by San Miguel Beer teammate Arwind Santos, Alaska’s Calvin Abueva, TNT KaTropa’s Jasyon Castro and GlobalPort’s Terrence Romeo.

The Second Mythical Team was comprised of Barangay Ginebra’s Japeth Aguilar and LA Tenorio, NLEX’s Asi Taulava and Sean Anthony and San Miguel Beer’s Alex Cabagnot.

Making it to the All-Defensive Team were Alaska’s Ping Exciminiano, San Miguel Beer’s Chris Ross, Cruz, Aguilar and Star’s Marc Pingris.

Your subscription could not be saved. Please try again.
Your subscription has been successful.

Subscribe to our daily newsletter

By providing an email address. I agree to the Terms of Use and acknowledge that I have read the Privacy Policy.

Read Next

Disclaimer: The comments uploaded on this site do not necessarily represent or reflect the views of management and owner of Cebudailynews. We reserve the right to exclude comments that we deem to be inconsistent with our editorial standards.

TAGS: MVP, San Miguel Beermen

We use cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. By continuing, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more, please click this link.