‘Kita Kita’ and ‘Changing Partners’ win big at PMPC Star Awards

By Michelle Joy L. Padayhag |February 20,2018 - 10:34 PM

Sigrid Andrea P.
Bernardo, Movie Editor of the Year and Movie
Director of the Year
for “Kita Kita”

THE FILMS “Kita Kita” and “Changing Partners” are this year’s big winners for the 34th Philippine Movie Press Club (PMPC) Star Awards for Movies during an awarding ceremony at Newport Performing Arts Theater in Resorts World Manila last Sunday, February 18.

“Kita Kita” directed by Sigrid Andrea P. Bernardo was hailed as Movie of the Year.

The film also received awards for Movie Screenwriter of the Year (Sigrid Andrea P. Bernardo), Movie Editor of the Year (Marya Ignacio), and Movie
Director of the Year (Sigrid Andrea P. Bernardo).

“Kita Kita” was shot in Saporro, Japan and topbilled by Empoy Marquez and Alessandra De Rossi. It was produced by Spring Films and Viva Films.

It was also the highest grossing film in the Philippines in 2017 with more than P300 million in box office sales, exceeding 2015 film, “Heneral Luna” which earned P250 million.

Spring Films, in its Instagram account, shared the good news about their PMPC Star Awards for Movies.

“Grabeee namaaannn yuunnnn!!! Congratulations Kita Kita!! Maraming salamat PMPC!! Thank you for the recognition,” the post read.

The stage play-turned-film “Changing Partners,” was hailed as the Indie Movie of the Year.

The film also received several other awards like Indie Movie Director of the Year (Dan Villegas), Indie Movie Musical Scorer for the Year (Vincent de Jesus), Indie Movie Editor of the Year (Marya Ignacio), and Indie Movie Screenwriter of the Year (Lilit Reyes and Vincent De Jesus).

This is not the first time that “Changing Partners” has been recognized at it also ruled the Cinema One Original Film Festival last year.

The story is an adaptation of Palanca Award-winning musical play by de Jesus about love, gender, and age.

The film was headlined by Agot Isidro, Jojit Lorenzo, Anna Luna, and Sandino Martin.

Villegas shared a photo of the trophies on his Instagram account and said, “Maraming salamat PMPC! (Nakalimutan ko pasalamatan ang cast sa pag-akyat sorry kinabahan ako. Alam niyo naman na love ko kayo).”

Meanwhile, Iza Calzado was named Best Actress.

The 35-year-old actress, who waited 16 years for an acting award for movies, thanked the PMPC for the recognition in her acceptance speech.

“PMPC, maraming salamat. Akala ko hindi niyo ako mahal. Sixteen years po akong naghintay para sa isang tropeyo para sa
pelikula. Mula po ‘Milan’ naka ilan na po akong attend, umasa baka swertehin. Salamat po at finally, swenerte po ako,” Calzado said.

“Ako po ay nanalo sa ibang bansa para sa pelikulang ‘Bliss’ pero iba po ang pakiramdam na manalo sa sariling bayan at
pahalagahan ka ng kapwa mo Pilipino,” she added.

To recall, Calzado received the Yakushi Pearl Award in Osaka Asian Film Festival in 2017.

“Bliss” is the story of Jane Ciego, a successful actress who became crippled after an accident.

Another award received by “Bliss” was Movie Sound Engineer of the Year (Mikko Quizon).

The Movie Actor of the Year award was won by Raymond Francisco for the film, “Bhoy Intsik.”

Critically acclaimed film, “Birdshot” brought home three awards: Indie Movie Cinematographer of the Year (Mycko David), Indie Movie Production of the Year (Michael Espanol) and Movie Supporting Actor of the Year (Arnold Reyes)

Other winners:

Movie Supporting Actress of the Year: Odette Khan (Bar Boys)
New Movie Actor of the Year: Mccoy de Leon (Instalado) and Matteo San Juan (Magkadugo)
New Movie Actress of the Year: Pia Wurtzbach (Revenger Squad) and Joanna Ampil (Ang Larawan)
Movie Child Performer of the Year: Marco Masa (Tatlong Bibe) and Julio Cesar Sabenorio (Guerrero)
Movie Cinematographer of the Year: Oydssey Flores (Siargao)
Movie Sound Engineer of the Year: Albert Micheal Idioma (The Ghost Bride)
Indie Movie Original Theme Song of the Year: “Respeto”
(Respeto) interpreted by Abra and Loonie
Movie Original Theme Song of the Year: “Natapos Tayo” (All Of You) interpreted by Nar Cabico
Movie Production Designer of the Year: Benjamin Padero and Carlo Tabije (Siargao)
Movie Love Team of the Year: Joshua Garcia and Julia Barretto
Darling of the Press: Harlene Bautista
Nora Aunor Ulirang Artista Award: Gina Alajar
Ulirang Alagad ng Pelikula sa Likod ng Kamera: Tikoy Aguiluz
Male Star of the Night: Xian Lim
Female Stars of the Night: Kim Chiu and Joyce Pilarsky
Faces of the Night: Joshua Garcia and Celeste Legaspi

Read Next

Disclaimer: The comments uploaded on this site do not necessarily represent or reflect the views of management and owner of Cebudailynews. We reserve the right to exclude comments that we deem to be inconsistent with our editorial standards.

We use cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. By continuing, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more, please click this link.