‘Felix Manalo’ wins big at Famas Awards

Dennis Trillo

Dennis Trillo

KAPUSO actor Dennis Trillo has earned his first FAMAS Best Actor Award for his role in the movie “Felix Manalo,” a historical biographical film dramatizing the life of the late Iglesia Ni Cristo leader.

“My very first FAMAS best actor,” said Dennis as he shared a photo of his trophy on his Instagram, shortly after the awarding ceremonies.

The film helmed by Joel Lamangan also won Best Director, hand in hand with the Best Picture Award given during the 64th Filipino Academy of Movie Arts and Sciences (FAMAS) held at the Century Park Hotel in Pasay City last Sunday night.

“Felix Manalo” also won for Bienvenido Santiago the best screenplay honor, while the song “Ang Sugo ng Diyos sa mga Huling Araw” (performed by Sarah Geronimo), was named Best Theme Song.

Meanwhile, Andi Eigenmann bagged the Best Actress award for her performance in the film “Angela Markado,” directed by Carlo J. Caparas.

“No matter what happens, don’t give up. The Lord will always show you that you’re meant for something. For me, it was winning this award from Famas,” Andi said during her acceptance speech.

The best visual effects award was given to Vincent Ilagan and Mike Velasquez for “Angela Markado.”

Gabby Concepcion and Lorna Tolentino brought home the best supporting actor and actress awards, respectively, for the film “Crazy Beautiful You.” Young actor JM Ibanez was awarded best child performer, also for the same film.

“You’re My Boss” won the best production design award for Shari Marie Montiague and the best sound honor for Addiss Tabong.

Robby Tantingco won the best story for “Ari: My Life with a King,” while Carlo Francisco Manatad bagged the best editing award for “Para sa Hopeless Romantic.”

Cesar Francis Concio took home the best musical score honor for “A Love Affair,” while Rain Yamson was given the best cinematography trophy for “Silong.”

The following received special awards:

Presidential Award for Vilma Santos-Recto; Famas Lifetime Achievement Award for Gloria Sevilla; Fernando Poe Jr. Memorial Award for Robin Padilla; Dr. Jose Perez Memorial Award for Jojo Gabinete; Arturo M. Padua Memorial Award for Danny Dolor; Father of Visual Poetry Award for Doc Penpen B. Takipsilim; German Moreno Youth Achievement Awards for Jak Roberto, Sanya Lopez and Gabbi Garcia; Recognition for Outstanding Performance for Arnold Reyes; and the 2016 Advocacy Film Award for Alvin Yapan’s “EDSA.” Awarded best new female artist was Ysabelle Peach (“Angela Markado”); actor par excellence, Piolo Pascual (“Silong”); and director par excellence and screenplay par excellence, Carlo J. Caparas (“Angela Markado”). (Apple Mae Ta-as)

TAGS: actor, award, Best Actor, Dennis Trillo, FAMAS, FAMAS Best Actor Award, Felix Manalo
Latest Stories
Most Read