“RESPETO” leads winners of Cinemalaya Film Festival

“RESPETO” bagged the most number of awards during the 13th year of Cinemalaya Philippine Independent Film Festival awards night held at the Cultural Center of the Philippines last August 13.

It won seven awards, including Best Film for the full-length film category.  After winning, the film’s official page then posted, “Salamat salamat salamat salamat salamat salamat salamat Cinemalaya!”

Directed by Treb Monteras II, “Respeto” stars two of the country’s most popular rappers, namely Abra (as Hendrix) and Loonie (as Breezy G). The story is about Hendrix who dreams of becoming a rapper and joining the world of underground hip-hop.

He meets Dido dela Paz (as Doc), an old poet who is haunted by his grim experience during Martial Law.  “Respeto” also received Network for the Promotion of Asian Cinema (NETPAC) Jury Prize, Audience Choice, Best Sound (Corinne de San Jose), Best Editing (Lawrence Ang) and Best Supporting Actor (Dido de la Paz).

Ike Villaneuva of “Respeto” and TM Malones of “Baconuaua” tied for the Best Cinematography award.  Joseph Israel Laban, director of “Baconaua” received the Best Director award. The film also won the Special Jury Prize.

Noel Comia Jr. and Yayo Aguila of the film “Kiko Boksingero” won the Best Actor and Best Supporting Actress, respectively. “Kiko Boksingero” also won the Best Original Music Score (by Pepe Manikan).  “Bagahe” lead star Angeli Bayani won Best Actress while Marxie Maolen Fadul of “Nabubulok” got Best Production Design honors. Zig Dulay of “Bagahe” won Best Screenplay.  Meanwhile, “Hilom” directed by PR Patindol won the Best Film for short film category.

“Fatima Marie Torres and the Invasion of Space Shuttle Pinas 25” directed by Carlo Francisco Manatad won the Special Jury Prize while “Aliens Ata” received the NETPAC Jury Prize.

Other winners are E del Mundo (Best Director for “Manong ng Pa-aling”), Duwi Monteagudo aka Joseph Israel Laban (Best Screenplay for “Bawod”) while “Nakauwi Na” won the Audience Choice award. (Michelle Joy Padayhag)

TAGS: Cinemalaya, festival, film, leads, RESPETO, winners
Latest Stories
Most Read