Cebuana Gendrauli defends beach volley title with new partner

May 05,2016 - 09:21 PM
15TH NESTEA BEACH VOLLEY/MARCH 11,2012:Danika Yolanda Gendrauli of SWU shout of joy after their opponent from University of Saint La Salle miss the ball during their game in 15th Nestea Beach Volley at Barangay Saavedra Moalboal HK resorts.SWU win the game.(CDN PHOTO/LITO TECSON)


CEBUANA spiker Danika Gendrauli seeks to defend her title in the 2016 Philippine Superliga (PSL) Challenge Cup beach volleyball tournament with a new partner in former La Salle star Aby Marano when the competition kicks off tomorrow at the Sands of SM By the Bay at the Mall of Asia.

With Norie Jane Diaz suiting up for the Navy with Pau Soriano, the former Southwestern University star has been paired with the fiery Marano to represent the F2 Logistics Cargo Movers.

And while they’ve only trained together recently, the early returns look promising according to Gendrauli.

“We just have to make minor adjustments to each other. We’ve been practicing a lot already. I’m like her trainer,” said the crafty left-handed spiker with a hearty laugh.

Chemistry has been not a problem between the two, reported Gendrauli as Marano, she says, has been very easy to work with.

“She actually feels more pressured than me since I’m one half of the defending champions,” shared Gendrauli.

It was a sentiment that was confirmed by Marano herself.

“Ang laki ng pressure, especially since most of them are beach volleyball players talaga. But since I’m teaming up with Danika, nandun ang confidence ko na kaya nya akong madala as a teammate.”

Standing in their way is a who’s who of women’s volleyball led by the country’s most decorated beach volleyball player, Jovelyn Gonzaga who will pair up with grizzled veteran in Nerissa Bautista for RC Cola-Army. Cebuana Cherry Rondina, the newly crowned Nestea Beach Volley champion, will also contend with partner Patty Orendain.

Other players seeing action are Florence Madulid and Pauline Genido for Philippine Navy-B; Maica Morada and Ces Molina for Petron Sprint 4T; Vhima Condada and Mary Grace Berte for Cignal Team Awesome; Jeannie Delos Reyes and Genie Sabas for RC Cola-Army-B; Aileen Abuel and Princess Listana for Accel Quantum Plus; Jasmine Alcayde and Angelica Dacaymat for UE-Manila; Shaira Hermano and Niella Ramilo for Mapua; Bernadette Pons and Kyla Atienza for FEU-Petron and April Ross Hingpit and Jonafer San Pedro for Meralco.

Read Next

Disclaimer: The comments uploaded on this site do not necessarily represent or reflect the views of management and owner of Cebudailynews. We reserve the right to exclude comments that we deem to be inconsistent with our editorial standards.

TAGS: 2016 Philippine Superliga, CEBUANA spiker Danika Gendrauli

We use cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. By continuing, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more, please click this link.