cdn mobile

Cash-rich Governor’s Cup hoop gets going

By: Calvin D. Cordova April 08,2017 - 09:34 PM

After months of thorough planning, the Governor’s Cup 2017 Cebu Province Inter-Cities/Municipalities Basketball Tournament finally starts today at the Cebu Coliseum.

By far the biggest grassroots basketball tournament in Cebu, the province-wide competition showcasing players aged 21 below will start with a grand opening ceremony which will be graced by Cebu Governor Hilario Davide III and Vice Governor Agnes Magpale.
Festivities start at 1 p.m.

Two games will kick start the tournament proper with Tudela taking on Pilar in the first game and Oslob facing off with Samboan in the main match.

Before the two matches, town mayors and board members will test each other’s mettle in an exhibition game.

Spearheaded by lawyer Ramil Abing, executive director of the Cebu Provincial Sports Commission (CPSC), the tournament attracted 38 teams which were divided into two divisions—the South and North.

Composing the North Division are Consolacion, Liloan, Compostela, Mandaue City, Pilar, Tudela, Carmen, Sogod, Borbon, Tuboran, Asturias, Balamban, Danao City, San Remigio, Medellin, Bogo City, Santa Fe, Bantayan and Madridejos.

The South Division is comprised of Talisay City, City of Naga, San Fernando, Sibonga, Argao, Dalaguete, Minglanilla, Alcoy, Boljoon, Oslob, Samboan, Santander, Ginatilan, Alegria, Badian, Alcantara, Dumanjug, Barili and Toledo City.

Huge cash prizes are at stake in the tournament that will follow an home-and-away format.

The number one team in each division after the elimination round will get P20,000, while P15,000 and P10,000 will be given to the second and third seeds, respectively.

Also, the number one team in the semifinals will take home P30,000 and the second seed will receive P20,000.

A whopping P500,000 will be given to champion team, while the runner-up will get P300,000.

Tournament format states that teams in the same bracket will play in a single round robin with the top two teams advancing to the quarterfinal round.

In the quarters, the six teams from each division will play in another single round robin with the top two squads moving to the semifinals.

The two semifinalists in each division will then play for the divisional title in a best-of-three series. Division champions will then fight for the overall crown in another best-of-three series.

Your subscription could not be saved. Please try again.
Your subscription has been successful.

Subscribe to our daily newsletter

By providing an email address. I agree to the Terms of Use and acknowledge that I have read the Privacy Policy.

Read Next

Disclaimer: The comments uploaded on this site do not necessarily represent or reflect the views of management and owner of Cebudailynews. We reserve the right to exclude comments that we deem to be inconsistent with our editorial standards.

TAGS: cup, Going, governors, hoop

We use cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. By continuing, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more, please click this link.