“100 Tula Para Kay Stella” dominates GEMS Awards

JASON Paul Laxamana’s film, “100 Tula Para Kay Stella” bagged the major awards during the Guild of Educators, Mentors, and Student (GEMS) Awards last night at De La Salle Santiago Zobel School in Muntinlapa City.

It was hailed as the Best Mainstream Film while its lead stars JC Santos and Bela Padilla won Best Actress and Best Actor, respectively.

Jason Paul Laxamana, the film director, was also named as the Best Director for the mainstream film.

Padilla posted part of her speech on Instagram yesterday to thank the award giving body for the recognition she received.

“Honestly 11 years na po akong sumusubok. Lagpas 100 audition na rin po ang sinubukan. Thank you so much GEMS. Iba yung pakiramdam to be doing the job you love so much that you love more than anything in the world,” she said.

In the film, Padilla plays Stella, a rock star.

Fidel portrayed by Santos creates poems for her as a way of expressing his admiration.

Santos, on his Instagram account, also thanked the GEMS.

A video shared by Padilla on her Instagram story showed when Santos received his Best Actor Award.

“@j.c.santos Di ka man nagwagi kay Stella, nagwagi ka naman dito! Congrats,” she said.

Laxamana was not able to attend the awarding ceremony due to health reasons.

But he took to Instagram account to congratulate the cast and the crew of the film.

Meanwhile, “Ang Larawan” was hailed as Best Indie Film while its film director, Loy Arcenas was also named as Best Director (Indie).

The Hiyas ng Sining awards are given by educators and students from different institutions to recognize personalities who excel in television, film, and radio.

Other awards for film category

Best Supporting Actor: Paolo Avelino (Ang Larawan)
Best Supporting Actress:
Jasmine Curtis Smith (Siargao)
Natatanging Pelikulang Pangkasarian: Changing Partners
Natatanging Hiyas ng Sining sa Pinilakang Tabing: Ronaldo Valdez


Best TV Series: The Good Son (ABS-CBN)
Best Performance in a Supporting Role for TV Series (Male or Female): Dimples Romana (The Greatest Love, ABS-CBN)
Best Actress for TV Series: Maja Salvador (Wildflower, ABS-CBN)
Best Actor for TV Series: RK Bagatsing (Wildflower, ABS-CBN)
Best Actress for Single Performance: Angel Locsin (Picture, MMK, ABS-CBN)
Best Actor for Single Performancs: Piolo Pascual (Upuan, MMK, ABS-CBN)
TV Station of the Year: ABS-CBN
Natatanging Hiyas ng Sining sa Telebisyon: Willie Revillame

TAGS: awards, dominates, gems
Latest Stories
Most Read
Your subscription could not be saved. Please try again.
Your subscription has been successful.

Subscribe to our regional newsletter

By providing an email address. I agree to the Terms of Use and acknowledge that I have read the Privacy Policy.