cdn mobile

Comelec bars Cebu City Councilor Arcilla from seeking fresh term

March 24,2019 - 06:45 AM

In this photo taken on Jan. 6, 2016,  Alvin Arcilla (seated) and Geraldo Carillo (in dark glasses) shake hands following a heated argument during the city council’s regular session on the same day. |CDN File Photo

CEBU CITY, Philippines – The Commission on Elections (Comelec) First Division has cancelled the certificate of candidacy of Cebu City Councilor Alvin Arcilla and barred him from from seeking another term as city councilor in the May 13 midterm elections. The First Division ruled that Arcilla “is ineligible to run as Member, Sangguniang Panlungsod, in the First District of Cebu City having been elected and having served, in the same position for three (3) consecutive terms immediately prior to the 13 May 3 2019 NLE (national and local elections).” “Accordingly, Respondent’s Certificate of Candidacy for Member, Sangguniang Panlungsod in the First District of Cebu for the 13 May 2019 NLE is hereby CANCELLED,”  said the resolution signed by Comelec First Division Presiding Commissioner Al A. Parreño and concurred by Commissioners Ma. Rowena Amelia V. Guanzon and Marlon  S. Casquejo. A copy of the resolution, dated March 15, 2019, was furnished to CDN Digital on Saturday night, March 23, 2019. The ruling stemmed from a petition filed by an Allen Canoy alleging that Arcilla is an ineligible candidate since his suspension during his current term should still be counted as him serving his third and final term. Arcilla is running under the Bando Osmeña Pundok Kauswagan (BOPK). RELATED STORY: Petition seeks disqualification of Andales, Arcilla The Comelec Third Division upheld Canoy’s argument, saying that since Arcilla was elected for three successive terms in 2010, 2013 and 2016, he retained his title and position even if he was barred from exercising his position because of a suspension. An interruption in the term of office “cannot be equated with the failure to render service,” the resolution said,  since he won a third and final term in the 2016 elections./elb

Your subscription could not be saved. Please try again.
Your subscription has been successful.

Subscribe to our daily newsletter

By providing an email address. I agree to the Terms of Use and acknowledge that I have read the Privacy Policy.

Read Next

Disclaimer: The comments uploaded on this site do not necessarily represent or reflect the views of management and owner of Cebudailynews. We reserve the right to exclude comments that we deem to be inconsistent with our editorial standards.


We use cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. By continuing, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more, please click this link.