STILL IN THE RACE: Calderon wins sixth leg of Kartzone Series

By Jonas N. Panerio |September 30,2014 - 04:27 PM
Jette Calderon waves the checkered flag during his victory lap at the Kartzone track (contributed)

Jette Calderon waves the checkered flag during his victory lap at the Kartzone track (contributed)

Reigning Karter of the Year Jette Calderon is not giving up his crown without a fight.

This he proved after winning the KT Expert class in the sixth leg of the 2014 Kartzone Superkart Series last weekend at the Kartzone Racing Circuit in Panagdait.

Calderon, who has not been as dominant in this year’s circuit, went back to his winning ways as he grabbed the lead away from Vince Rojo in the waning moments of the final heat, winning the checkered flag in the 25-lap race in 13 minutes and 5.181 seconds, three seconds faster than second-place winner and current points leader Rojo, who crossed the finish line in 13:08.085. Completing the podium finishers was Sean Velasco, who had a time of 13:11.555.

Rojo actually seized the lead at the start of the final heat as Calderon got caught napping and fell to fourth place behind Velasco and Joseph Rojo.

However, Calderon found his stride and climbed to second place and stayed within striking distance of Vince Rojo until the 22nd lap, where he made the race’s telling maneuver.

With Rojo relaxing during his entry at the sweeping left-hander ambition curve, Calderon found a slight opening and took full advantage as he squeezed past Rojo to take the lead and seal the much-needed win.

In winning all the races during the sixth leg, Calderon gained the maximum number of points – 110 – to charter a total of 250 with one leg left. Vince Rojo had 82 points and has now amassed a total of 336.

Though nobody is assured of the title yet, race organizer Kim Limgenco said that all Vince Rojo has to do now is make sure he finishes every race in the seventh and last leg this Oct. 25 at the Panglao Kartways to come away with the coveted Karter of the Year plum.

The other race winners were Liam Sacal (KT Novice), Frederick Cortes (Honda Expert), Ebb Dicdican (Honda Novice) and Keon Romoff (Cadet).

Disclaimer: The comments uploaded on this site do not necessarily represent or reflect the views of management and owner of Cebudailynews. We reserve the right to exclude comments that we deem to be inconsistent with our editorial standards.

We use cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. By continuing, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more, please click this link.