cdn mobile

Cebu City Council starts 2nd year, minority councilors still left out of committee chairmanships

By: Wenilyn Sabalo - Multimedia Reporter - CDN Digital | July 06,2023 - 07:30 AM

The 16th Cebu City Council was in full attendance during its reorganizational session on Wednesday, July 5, 2023.| Wenilyn Sabalo

CEBU CITY, Philippines –- In its second year, the majority floor of the 16th Cebu City Council has again hardly handed over any committee chairmanships or memberships to the minority council.

Though, Councilors Mary Ann de los Santos and Councilor Jose Abellanosa, now have committee memberships.

READ: ‘Singapore-like’ Cebu City measures among 37 new ordinances passed by 16th City Council

De los Santos has been elected to be a member of the Committee on Youth and Sports Development, chaired by Councilor Jessica Resch. De los Santos replaced Councilor Rey Gealon’s membership in the committee.

delivery riders

Cebu City Councilor Mary Ann delos Santos| CDN Digital File Photo

Moreover, Abellanosa is also now a member of the Committee on Labor, Employment, Cooperative, and Livelihood, also replacing Gealon. The committee’s chairmanship was still with Councilor Edgardo Labella II.

Cebu City petty crimes

Cebu City Councilor Jose Lorenzo Abellanosa, a minority councilor, gets a committee membership at the Committee on Labor, Employment, Cooperative, and Livelihood.| Screenshot from Sangguniang Panlungsod FB Live via Wenilyn Sabalo

The 16th Cebu City Council held its reorganizational session, on Wednesday, July 5, 2023, a year after they resumed office in the City’s Legislative Department.

Councilor and Minority Floor Leader Nestor Archival Sr., however, has again been left out with no committee chairmanship nor leadership.

READ: Mayor Rama set to tackle CCMC issue during second SOCA

Cebu City Council Committee heads

Ex-officio Councilors Jessica Resch and Franklyn Ong retained each of their chairmanships at the Committee on Youth and Sports Development and Committee on Barangay Affairs, respectively, as they are incumbent Sangguniang Kabataan Federation president and Association of Barangay Councils president, respectively.

Vice Mayor Raymond Alvin Garcia, presiding officer of the city council, still holds the chairmanship for the Committee on Housing and Committee on Animal Welfare.

Majority Floor Leader Councilor Jocelyn Pesquera remains to have three chairmanships: the Committee on Health Hospital Services, and Sanitation; on Women, LGBTQ, and Family Affairs, and the Committee on House Rules and Oversight.

President Pro Tempore Councilor Donaldo Hontiveros still got the chairmanship on the Committee on Education, Science, and Technology; on Scholarship Program, and Committee on Tourism, Arts, and Culture.

READ: Solon asks House panel to back proposed 5-year term for elected brgy execs

Your subscription could not be saved. Please try again.
Your subscription has been successful.

Subscribe to our daily newsletter

By providing an email address. I agree to the Terms of Use and acknowledge that I have read the Privacy Policy.

Read Next

Disclaimer: The comments uploaded on this site do not necessarily represent or reflect the views of management and owner of Cebudailynews. We reserve the right to exclude comments that we deem to be inconsistent with our editorial standards.

TAGS: Cebu City, city council

We use cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. By continuing, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more, please click this link.