Nov. 2, Dec. 24, Dec. 31 now ‘special working days’

By: Krissy Aguilar - Inquirer.net | February 27,2021 - 07:06 AM

MANILA, Philippines — Malacañang has amended the list of holidays for 2021, declaring November 2 (All Souls’ Day), December 24 (Christmas Eve) and December 31 (last day of the year) as “special working days.”

Proclamation No. 1107 signed by President Rodrigo Duterte on Friday amended a previous issuance declaring the aforementioned dates as special non-working days.

“For the country to recover from the adverse economic impact of the Covid-19 pandemic, there is a need to encourage economic productivity by, among others, minimizing work disruption and commemorating some special holidays as special working days instead,” it said.

The distinction between the special working holiday and special non-working holiday is the rate of pay an employee will get should he decide to work on that specific day.

Based on the holiday pay rules issued by the Department of Labor and Employment in December 2019, if an employee went to work on a special non-working holiday, the “no work, no pay” principle shall apply (unless there is a company policy granting payment on a special day), for which he shall be paid an additional 30 percent of his basic wage on the first eight hours of work.

For work performed on a special working holiday, an employee is entitled only to his basic rate. No premium pay is required since work performed on said days is considered work on ordinary working days.

The full list of regular holidays and special non-working days are as follows:

Regular holidays

New Year’s Day– January 1 (Friday)
Araw ng Kagitingan– April 9 (Friday)
Maundy Thursday– April 1
Good Friday– April 2
Labor Day– May 1 (Saturday)
Independence Day– June 12 (Saturday)
National Heroes’ Day– August 30 (Last Monday of August)
Bonifacio Day– November 30 (Tuesday)
Christmas Day– December 25 (Saturday
Rizal Day -December 30 (Thursday)

Special non-working days

Chinese New Year– February 12 (Friday)
Edsa People Power Anniversary– February 25 (Thursday)
Black Saturday– April 3
Ninoy Aquino Day– August 21 (Saturday)
All Saints’ Day– November 1 (Monday)
Feast of the Immaculate Conception of Mary– December 8 (Wednesday)

Additional special (working) days

All Souls’ Day – November 2 (Tuesday)
Christmas Eve – December 24 (Friday)
Last Day of the Year– December 31 (Friday)

Read Next

Disclaimer: The comments uploaded on this site do not necessarily represent or reflect the views of management and owner of Cebudailynews. We reserve the right to exclude comments that we deem to be inconsistent with our editorial standards.

TAGS: Dec. 24 Dec. 31, Nov. 2, Proclamation No. 1107, special working days

We use cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. By continuing, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more, please click this link.