Quebengco is new USC Board of Trustees chair

By: PR September 21,2016 - 11:53 AM


The University of San Carlos (USC) Board of Trustees and Corporation designated Dr. Carmelita Quebengco as the new Board Chair as Dr. Magdaleno Albarracin ended his term last May 2017 during the annual USC Corporation meeting held at the USC main campus last Sept. 17.

Dr. Quebengo is Chancellor Emeritus and University Fellow at De La Salle University, where she also currently serves as consultant to the President-Chancellor.

She has had a colorful professional journey from being a classroom teacher at La Salle Green Hills High School to becoming an associate professor in the Graduate School of Education of De La Salle University, director of its University Research Office, chair of the Educational Management Department, associate dean of the College of Liberal Arts, founding dean of the De La Salle College of Saint Benilde, academic vice president, then executive vice president/chancellor of the university, where she also became its first woman president in 2003.

She is a trustee of some 18 schools and universities, national professional organizations, NGOs, and educational accrediting bodies. She has been a member of the USC Board of Trustees since 2014.

Also elected as a returning Board member during the same Corporation meeting was Dr. Conchita Manabat. She was the first woman chair of the USC Board of Trustees from 2010-2011, and trustee from April 2002-May 2011.

In 1997, Dr. Manabat founded the accounting firm bearing her name, C.L. Manabat & Co. that got the representation of Deloitte Touche Tohmatsu (a “Big Four” international accounting organization), whereby at the time of her retirement in 2007, the firm had also become one of the top five accounting practitioners in the country.

She was once the chief regulator of the accountancy profession as Chair of the Board of Accountancy of the Professional Regulation Commission (member from 1992-96 and Chair in 1996-97). Until March 2016, she was a member of the Consultative Advisory Group of the International Auditing & Assurance Standards Board (IAASB) and the International Ethics Standards Board for Accountants (IESBA) of the International Federation of Accountants (IFAC).

An active advocate of capital market development, Manabat served as the chair of the Capital Market Development Council for four years (2003-2006), with the Secretary of Finance and the Chairman of the Securities and Exchange Commission as co-chairs.

For two years (2007-2009), Manabat assumed the leadership at the Market Integrity Board of the Philippine Stock Exchange as its first woman chair.

Two SVD members were re-elected to another three-year Board term, namely, Fr. Antonio Pernia, SVD, former SVD Superior General and currently Dean of Studies and Professor, Divine Word Institute of Mission Studies, in Tagaytay City; and Fr. Ruel Lero, SVD, presently the Vice President for Academic Affairs, Holy Name University, in Tagbilaran City.

The ten-member USC Board of Trustees is presently composed of the following: Dr. Carmelita Quebengco, Chair; Fr. Eduardo Rocha, SVD, (Provincial Superior, PHS) Vice Chair; Former Chief Justice Hilario Davide, Jr., Fr. Isagani Ehido, SVD, Fr. Ruel Lero, SVD, Dr. Conchita Manabat, Fr. Dionisio Miranda, SVD (University President), Fr. Antonio Pernia, SVD, Dr. Benito Teehankee, and Fr. Arthur Villanueva, SVD, as members.

Your subscription could not be saved. Please try again.
Your subscription has been successful.

Subscribe to our daily newsletter

By providing an email address. I agree to the Terms of Use and acknowledge that I have read the Privacy Policy.

Read Next

Disclaimer: The comments uploaded on this site do not necessarily represent or reflect the views of management and owner of Cebudailynews. We reserve the right to exclude comments that we deem to be inconsistent with our editorial standards.

TAGS: Cebu City, San Carlos, University of San Carlos, USC

We use cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. By continuing, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more, please click this link.