cdn mobile

USC, SHS-AdC rule separate divisions in Milo caging

By: Jonas N. Panerio September 25,2017 - 10:17 PM

THE University of San Carlos (USC) and the Sacred Heart School-Ateneo de Cebu claimed the Passerelle and SBP championships, respectively, after they vanquished their opponents in the finals of the 32nd SBP Passerelle Tournament backed by Milo last Sunday at the Cebu Coliseum.

USC edged Ateneo de Cebu, 66-62, to capture the Passerelle title in thrilling fashion while Ateneo de Cebu made up for its loss in the Passerelle division by dethroning the erstwhile champions University of the Visayas (UV), 67-39.

The Ateneo de Cebu SBP and USC Passerelle teams will represent Cebu in the Visayas Regional Finals which will be held on October 7 to 8 in Iloilo.

USC was down in the first half, 22-27, but eventual MVP Reinhard Jumamoy sparked their comeback and put them in front, 46-43, heading to the fourth.

Jumamoy then nailed Ateneo de Cebu’s coffin shut with a huge three pointer and several more insurance baskets that sealed the title victory for the boys in gold.

Jumamoy led the way with 14 points, while Rauric Panimdim and Justin Betinol chipped in 11 and 10 markers, respectively, to help USC get its first Passerelle crown since 2013.

In the SBP class, Ateneo de Cebu was firing on all cylinders on both ends of the floor, holding UV to just 11 points in the first half while scoring 23 of its own.

SBP MVP Jared Bahay scored 12 of his 17 during that pivotal second period run.

It was all Ateneo de Cebu from that point onwards as Stephen Cutamora took over in the third where he charted nine, while Kristian Porter dominated the fourth with 13 points.

The Scores:


USC (66) – Jumamoy 14, Panimdim 11, Betinol 10, Atilano 9, Ornopia 5, Catubig 4, Borces 3, del Socorro 2, Deloria 2, Janer 2, Cortes 2, Balaga 2.
SHS-Ateneo (62) – Chan 13, Casinillo 11, Cabañero 7, Espina 7, Largo 4, Abunawan 5, Laput 5, Yu 4, Dytian 3, Alvez 3.
SHS-Ateneo (67) – Bahay 17, Porter 13, Cutamora 12, Zanoria 6, Lim 6, Jabalon 6, V. Suico 5, H. Suico 2.
UV (39) – Padilla 11, Lazarte 10, Abangan 6, Duran 4, Toring 3, Oclarit 3, Malinao 2, Suan 1.

Your subscription could not be saved. Please try again.
Your subscription has been successful.

Subscribe to our daily newsletter

By providing an email address. I agree to the Terms of Use and acknowledge that I have read the Privacy Policy.

Read Next

Disclaimer: The comments uploaded on this site do not necessarily represent or reflect the views of management and owner of Cebudailynews. We reserve the right to exclude comments that we deem to be inconsistent with our editorial standards.

TAGS: ADC, Milo, rule, separate, SHS, USC

We use cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. By continuing, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more, please click this link.