cdn mobile

Cebu under Signal No. 1 due to #LanniePH

By: Morexette Marie B. Erram - Multimedia Reporter - CDN Digital | October 04,2021 - 09:58 AM

Cebu under Signal No. 1 due to #LanniePH

Satellite image of Tropical Depression Lannie as of 9 a.m. on October 4, 2021 | Screengrab from Pagasa

CEBU CITY, Philippines – The entire island of Cebu on Monday, October 4, was placed under Tropical Cyclone Wind Signal (TCWS) No. 1 due to Tropical Depression Lannie.

As a result, local government units (LGUs) here are advised to regularly monitor their surroundings and implement precautionary measures.

The Philippine Coast Guard in Cebu (PCG-Cebu) has also suspended all trips bound for and sailing from Cebu island as a safety precaution.

Under Storm Signal No. 1, Cebu will be experiencing strong winds within 36 hours, and moderate to heavy rains, the Philippine Atmospheric, Geophysical, and Astronomical Services Administration (Pagasa) reported.

Lannie, based on the state weather bureau’s 8 a.m. severe weather bulletin, was spotted over the coastal waters of Liloan, Southern Leyte.

It packs winds up to 45 kilometers per hour (kph) with gustiness reaching up to 55 kph. Lannie is moving in a west-northwestward direction at 15 kph.

Lannie already made two landfalls before making its way across the Visayas area – in Bucas Grande Island, Socorro, Surigao del Norte (4:30 a.m.); and in Cagdianao, Dinagat Islands (5 a.m.)

Below is the complete list of areas covered by TCWS due to Lannie.


  • The southern portion of Masbate (Pio V. Corpuz, Cataingan, Palanas, Dimasalang, Uson, Mobo, Milagros, Mandaon, Esperanza, Placer, Cawayan, Balud)
  • The southern portion of Romblon (Cajidiocan, San Fernando, Magdiwang, Santa Maria, Odiongan, Alcantara, Ferrol, Looc, Santa Fe, San Jose)
  • The southern portion of Oriental Mindoro (Roxas, Mansalay, Bulalacao, Bongabong)
  • The southern portion of Occidental Mindoro (Sablayan, Calintaan, Rizal, San Jose, Magsaysay), and the northern portion of Palawan (El Nido, Taytay, Dumaran, Araceli) including Calamian and Cuyo Islands.
  • Eastern Samar
  • Samar
  • Biliran
  • Leyte
  • Southern Leyte
  • Capiz
  • Aklan
  • Antique
  • Iloilo
  • Guimaras
  • Negros Occidental
  • the northern and central portions of Negros Oriental (Bais City, Mabinay, City of Bayawan, Basay, City of Tanjay, Manjuyod, Bindoy, Ayungon, Tayasan, Jimalalud, La Libertad, City of Guihulngan, Vallehermoso, Canlaon City)
  • Cebu
  • Bohol


  • Surigao del Norte, Dinagat Islands,
  • The northern portion of Agusan del Norte (Magallanes, Remedios T. Romualdez, City of Cabadbaran, Tubay, Santiago, Jabonga, Kitcharao, Butuan City),
  • The northern portion of Agusan del Sur (Sibagat, City of Bayugan, Prosperidad)
  • The northern portion of Surigao del Sur (San Miguel, Marihatag, San Agustin, Cagwait, Bayabas, Tago, City of Tandag, Cortes, Lanuza, Carmen, Madrid, Cantilan, Carrascal, Lianga) / ###


PCG suspends sea travels due to #LanniePH

CT-TODA: Manipis Road still off-limits to public, motorists

Signal No. 1 in 23 areas, rainy Monday due to Tropical Depression Lannie

Your subscription could not be saved. Please try again.
Your subscription has been successful.

Subscribe to our daily newsletter

By providing an email address. I agree to the Terms of Use and acknowledge that I have read the Privacy Policy.

Read Next

Disclaimer: The comments uploaded on this site do not necessarily represent or reflect the views of management and owner of Cebudailynews. We reserve the right to exclude comments that we deem to be inconsistent with our editorial standards.


We use cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. By continuing, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more, please click this link.