cdn mobile

NCR still under Alert Level 1; Some provinces remain under Alert Level 2 — IATF

Cebu City, Mandaue and Lapu-Lapu cities remain in Alert Level 1, Cebu Province still at Alert Level 2

By: Gabriel Pabico Lalu - Reporter / @GabrielLaluINQ - | May 15,2022 - 10:02 PM

FILE PHOTO: Vehicles on Edsa, Metro Manila’s main thoroughfare. NIÑO JESUS ORBETA / PHILIPPINE DAILY INQUIRER

FILE PHOTO: Vehicles on Edsa, Metro Manila’s main thoroughfare. NIÑO JESUS ORBETA / PHILIPPINE DAILY INQUIRER

MANILA, Philippines — Metro Manila and several other provinces and towns will still be under Alert Level 1 of the COVID-19 alert classification system, while other areas will remain under Alert Level 2 according to acting Presidential spokesperson Secretary Martin Andanar.

Andanar said in a statement on Sunday that the Inter-Agency Task Force for the Management of Emerging Infectious Diseases (IATF) has approved proposals to keep Metro Manila and the following other provinces and areas under Alert Level 1 from May 16 to 31, 2022:

Cordillera Administrative Region (Abra, Apayao, Kalinga, Mountain Province, Baguio City)
Ilocos Region (Ilocos Norte, Ilocos Sur, La Union, Pangasinan, and Dagupan City
Cagayan Valley (Batanes, Cagayan, Isabela, Nueva Vizcaya, Quirino, and City of Santiago)
Central Luzon (Aurora, Bataan, Bulacan, Nueva Ecija, Pampanga, Tarlac, Zambales, Angeles City, and Olongapo City
Calabarzon (Batangas, Cavite, Laguna, Rizal, and Lucena City)
Mimaropa (Marinduque, Oriental Mindoro, Romblon, and Puerto Princesa City)
Bicol Region (Albay, Catanduanes, and Naga City)
Western Visayas (Aklan, Capiz, Guimaras, Iloilo, Bacolod City, and Iloilo City)
Central Visayas (Siquijor, Cebu City, Lapu-Lapu City, and Mandaue City)
Eastern Visayas (Biliran, Eastern Samar, Southern Leyte, Ormoc City, and Tacloban City)
Zamboanga Peninsula (Zamboanga City)
Northern Mindanao (Bukidnon, Camiguin, Misamis Occidental, Misamis Oriental, Cagayan de Oro City, and Iligan City)
Davao Region (Davao City)
Caraga (Surigao del Sur and Butuan City)

The following areas will also be under Alert Level 1 without prejudice to component cities and municipalities already under Alert Level 1:

Cordillera Administrative Region: (Kiangan, Ifugao)
Bicol Region (Balud, Masbate; and Irosin, Sorsogon)
Central Visayas (Calape, Bohol; Garcia Hernandez, Bohol; San Isidro, Bohol; San Miguel, Bohol; Alcoy, Cebu; Borbon, Cebu; Oslob, Cebu; Pilar, Cebu; Santander, Cebu; Tudela, Cebu; Bacong, Negros Oriental; Dauin, Negros Oriental; Valencia (Luzarriaga), Negros Oriental; and Zamboanguita, Negros Oriental
Eastern Visayas (Tarangnan, Samar; and Zumarraga)
Zamboanga Peninsula (Mahayag, Zamboanga del Sur; and Diplahan, Zamboanga Sibugay)
Soccsksargen: (Kalamansig, Sultan Kudarat)
Bangsamoro Autonomous Region in Muslim Mindanao (BARMM) (Upi, Maguindanao)

Meanwhile, the following areas are under Alert Level 2, without affecting nearby areas or areas in the same province that are under a different classification:

Cordillera Administrative Region (Benguet, Ifugao)
Calabarzon (Quezon Province)
Mimaropa (Occidental Mindoro, and Palawan)
Bicol Region (Camarines Norte, Camarines Sur, Masbate, and Sorsogon)
Western Visayas (Antique and Negros Occidental)
Central Visayas (Bohol, Cebu Province, and Negros Oriental)
Eastern Visayas (Leyte, Northern Samar, and Western Samar)
Zamboanga Peninsula (City of Isabela, Zamboanga del Sur, Zamboanga del Norte, and Zamboanga Sibugay)
Northern Mindanao (Lanao del Norte)
Davao Region (Davao del Norte, Davao del Sur, Davao Oriental, Davao de Oro, and Davao Occidental)
Soccsksargen (General Santos City, North Cotabato, Sarangani, Sultan Kudarat, and South Cotabato)
Caraga (Agusan del Norte, Agusan del Sur, Dinagat Islands, and Surigao del Norte)
BARMM (Basilan, Cotabato City, Lanao del Sur, Maguindanao, Sulu, and Tawi-Tawi)

According to the Department of Health (DOH), COVID-19 cases in the country are actually dropping despite increased mobility.

However, experts have also warned that the country may see an uptick in cases amid the campaign period for the 2022 polls, and the election held last Monday.

Last Friday, DOH confirmed the presence of the Omicron variant’s BA.2.12.1 subvariant in Metro Manila and Puerto Princesa.  This subvariant is slightly different from the Omicron version that hit the country late December, which led to a massive surge in infections.

READ: Omicron subvariant BA.2.12.1 now in NCR, Puerto Princesa

READ: DOH vows to monitor any possible uptick in COVID cases after 2022 polls

Your subscription could not be saved. Please try again.
Your subscription has been successful.

Subscribe to our daily newsletter

By providing an email address. I agree to the Terms of Use and acknowledge that I have read the Privacy Policy.

Read Next

Disclaimer: The comments uploaded on this site do not necessarily represent or reflect the views of management and owner of Cebudailynews. We reserve the right to exclude comments that we deem to be inconsistent with our editorial standards.

TAGS: Alert Level 1, alert level 2, Andanar, Cebu City, Cebu Daily News, cebu news, Cebu province, IATF, lapu-lapu, mandaue

We use cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. By continuing, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more, please click this link.