Cobra Ironman offers $75K, 33 Pros vying

By: Glendale G. Rosal August 05,2016 - 10:18 PM
Defending men’s Pro division champion Australian Tim Reed.

Defending men’s Pro division champion Australian Tim Reed.

With a whopping $75,000 at stake, its no wonder why this Sunday’s Cobra Ironman 70.3 Asia Pacific Championships has attracted some of the world’s best.

Presented by Ford, the highly anticipated race that features a 1.9-kilometer swim, 90k bike and 21k run will award $14,000 to the male and female champions in the Pro division as well as to the rest of the Top 10 placers.

Leading the list of 35 professional foreign contenders are defending champions Tim Reed of Australia and women’s pro division grand slam winner Caroline Steffen.

The runner-up will get $7,000 while the next eight placers will pocket $4,500, $3,000, $2,500, $2,000, $1,500, $1,250, $1,000 and $750, respectively. The Top 3 finishers in the Filipino Elite division will also receive cash.

Reed will compete alongside 12 fellow Aussie pro triathletes namely Craig Alexander, Sam Betten, Levi Maxwell, Alexander Polizzi, Leon Griffin, Bradley Kahlefeldt, David Mainwaring, Jake Montgomery, Sarah Crowley, Amanda Wilson, Tim Van Berkel and Dimity Lee Duke.

New Zealand’s Amelia Rose Watkinson, Kathryn Haesner, Matthew Franklin, Cameron Brown and Braden Currie will also compete this Sunday.

The Philippines will have Australian Dan Brown and Philippine Triathlon Team member Kim Kilgroe in the Pro division. Brown is the husband of Filipina triathlete turned coach Annie De Leon Brown .

The rest of the foreign pro triathletes are Sebastian Joufret and Antony Costes of France, Stephen Thompson of Ireland, Denmark’s Jens Petersen Bach, Bahrain’s Eric Watson, Great Britain’s James Hadley, Italy’s Jonathan Ciavatella, Canada’s Brent Mcmahon, USA’s Brad Williams, Czech Republic’s Radka Vodickova and Spain’s Judith Corachan Vaquera.

The 28 Filipino Elite triathletes include defending champions August Benedicto and Monica Torres, Rosalito Albina, Benjamin Balaoro, Ani Karina Brown, Gerrie Calinawan, John Leerams Chicano, Emmanuel Comendador, John Philip Dueñas, Robinson Esteves, Marben Goles, Maria Hodges, Paul Jumamil, Ramie Lawas, Kristiane Lim, Danreb Mejia, Joseph Miller, Crescenciano Nalo, Banjo Norte, Franklin Peñalosa, Welmar Saavedre, Jonard Saim, Ralph Martin Sios-e, Noel Tillor, Dixon Tiu, Warren Vergara, Louie Villacin and Jory Ycong.

Pro division winners will earn automatic slots to the 2017 Ironman 70.3 World Championship in Chattanooga, Tennessee while 50 age groupers will also earn slots if they top their respective divisions.

Subscribe to our regional newsletter

By providing an email address. I agree to the Terms of Use and acknowledge that I have read the Privacy Policy.
Read Next

Disclaimer: The comments uploaded on this site do not necessarily represent or reflect the views of management and owner of Cebudailynews. We reserve the right to exclude comments that we deem to be inconsistent with our editorial standards.

TAGS: 70.3 Asia Pacific Championships, Caroline Steffen, cash prize, Cobra, Cobra 70.3 Asia Pacific Championships, cobra ironman, Cobra Ironman 70.3 Asia Pacific Championships, Ironman 70.3 Asia-Pacific Championships, reward

Subscribe to our regional newsletter

By providing an email address. I agree to the Terms of Use and
acknowledge that I have read the Privacy Policy.

We use cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. By continuing, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more, please click this link.