cdn mobile

SWU-Phinma shuttlers rule 4th Baddicts Stars tourney

By: Mark Tongco July 20,2017 - 10:25 PM

LEVEL E WINNERS. Baddicts Stars Tournament Director Nove Trapa (leftmost) poses with Level E runner-up Vince Avanceña and Jay-r Batulan; Level E champion Ryan Jay Doromal and Janrhel Clark Asombrado and tournament emcee Fritz Albores during the awarding rites.
cdn photo mark tongco

Surpassing a feat that they themselves set during their last major tournament, the Baddicts Stars again earned plaudits for the successful hosting of the 4th Baddicts Stars Tournament last Saturday that restored players’ hopes for fair competitive badminton without the hocus pocus thrown in by those with ulterior motives.

Players from Southwestern University and CoolKidz battled it out for the top prize in the centerpiece Level E category.
SWU-Phinma’s Ryan Jay Doromal and Janrhel Clark Asombrado beat CoolKidz’ Jay-R Batulan and Vince Avanceña, 31-29 to capture the premier crown.

Earlier, Doromal and Asombrado ousted CoolKidz players Mark Joseph Puentevella and Mark Tongco to grab the first finals slot. CoolKidz struck back in the other semifinal as Batulan and Avanceña ripped SWU’s Mike Maratas and Josephus Patalinghug.

The finals match was a cardiac encounter as the contending teams took turns in taking the lead. In the end though, the Doromal-Asombrado pair proved stronger down the stretch.

The Level F finals was a battle between the rising badminton stars of the Danao Smashers team, ladies’ doubles vs. men’s doubles.

Shaynne Boloron and Daisy Preglo went up against their teammates, Charlie Ivan Aguilar and Joel Barriga Jr., whose brute strength prevailed over the ladies’ court wits. Their coach Mackoy Sierras beamed with pride with his team’s 1-2 finish.

Level G+ champions are James Carl Capin and Matt Cyril Bisnar who beat Mao Tagsip and Armand Lumapas while the Level G title went to Rey Escuadro and Nel Justin Dosdos who defeated Paul Cadeliña and Nathaniel Florentino.

The Level G- became the antithesis to the Level F finals outcome as the tandem of Danao Smashers Kim Margarette Jacalan and Alliyah Kaye Limosnero outplayed their male challengers, Royen Duran and Gerrick Dongallo of Lil Baddicts of Catmon team.

The 4th Baddicts Stars Badminton Tournament was made possible by Gold Sponsors, Kopiko 78°, Energen Sweet Corn, Le Minerale Water, An-An’s Lechon, WPO Furniture Shop, Gp Gutierrez and Wilson Miflores.

Other sponsors are: Ms. Olive Borromeo, Asialight Travel & Tours, Balamban Liempo, Mr. Rey Pelonio, Mr. Jimmy Wu of Graphic Star, Andrew of XP2 Titanium Shuttlecocks, Hislove Beauty Supplies and media partner, Cebu Daily News.

Your subscription could not be saved. Please try again.
Your subscription has been successful.

Subscribe to our daily newsletter

By providing an email address. I agree to the Terms of Use and acknowledge that I have read the Privacy Policy.

Read Next

Disclaimer: The comments uploaded on this site do not necessarily represent or reflect the views of management and owner of Cebudailynews. We reserve the right to exclude comments that we deem to be inconsistent with our editorial standards.

TAGS: 4th, Phinma, rule, stars, SWU, tourney

We use cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. By continuing, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more, please click this link.