Visiting footballers shock local squads in Ateneo Football Cup

By: Mars G. Alison July 21,2018 - 09:00 PM

Three out of town teams advanced to the quarterfinal round of the 3rd Sacred Heart School (SHS)-Ateneo de Cebu Invitational 11-a-side Football Championships at the Ateneo campus in Canduman, Mandaue City after yesterday’s elimination round.

Rosevale FC of Cagayan de Oro City had the best finish among the out of towners after it topped Group C by blanking Giuseppe FC, 3-0, and edging Abellana National School (ANS) Pomeroy, 2-1.

Both Gaher FC of Bohol and Sagay FC of Sagay City ended their elimination campaign at the second spot of their respective groups.

Sagay FC placed second in Group A behind the University of San Carlos Basic Education (USC-BED) with a 4-0 routing of the Sisters of Mary School Boystown. Despite losing to USC, 0-1, Sagay still advanced to the quarterfinals after the Boystown also bowed to USC-BED, 0-1.

Gaher FC, for its part, placed second in Group B with a 2-0 outsmarting of Don Bosco Technical College (DBTC) Magone after shrugging off a 1-2 loss against the Magis Eagles.

Aside from USC-BED and ANS Pomeroy, other local teams completing the top 8 are SHS-AdC Magis Eagles, Don Bosco Boys Home and DBTC Savio.

Aside from their win over Gaher FC, the Magis Eagles also thrashed DBTC Magone, 3-0, to top Group B.

DBTC Savio compensated for its sister team by topping Group D with a commanding 10-0 victory over Matrix UTD of Bohol following a scoreless draw against DB Boys Home.

The quarterfinal round will still be held at the same venue and will begin at 8 a.m. with USC-BED to face Gaher FC, Magis Eagles against Sagay, Rosevale vs DB Boys Home and DBTC Savio up against ANS Pomeroy.

The winners will advance to the semifinal round which will immediately follow the battle of the top 8. The winning semifinalists will then vie for the title while the losing teams will battle for the third place.

The champion team will be receiving a specially designed trophy, once again courtesy of Ronea Bagabuyo of Dapitan, a close friend of tournament organizer Engr. Nilo Ferraren.

Special awards will also be given such as the most valuable player, best keeper, best striker, best defender and best midfielder.

Subscribe to our regional newsletter

By providing an email address. I agree to the Terms of Use and acknowledge that I have read the Privacy Policy.
Read Next

Disclaimer: The comments uploaded on this site do not necessarily represent or reflect the views of management and owner of Cebudailynews. We reserve the right to exclude comments that we deem to be inconsistent with our editorial standards.

TAGS: Ateneo, Football Cup, Footballers, local, shock, squads, visiting

Subscribe to our regional newsletter

By providing an email address. I agree to the Terms of Use and
acknowledge that I have read the Privacy Policy.

We use cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. By continuing, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more, please click this link.