No negative RT-PCR/Antigen test results, no entry in 8 ports of entry in Cebu Province

By: Mae Fhel Gom-os August 12,2021 - 09:45 AM

MANDAUE CITY, Cebu -All travelers entering eight ports of entry in Cebu Province will now be required to present negative results of either RT-PCR or Rapid Antigen tests.

This after Cebu Governor Gwendolyn Garcia on Wednesday, August 11, 2021, issued a memorandum regarding the implementation of ports of entry under Section 11 of Executive Order No. 38, Series of 2021 while some towns and cities in the province are placed under Modified Enhanced Community Quarantine (MECQ) status.

These ports of entry include in the towns of Consolacion, Minglanilla, Argao, Samboan, Oslob, Cordova, San Fernando, and Santander.

This means all persons, whether an authorized persons outside of residence (APOR) or non-APOR, are required to present either negative results of RT-PCR test taken within the last 72 hours or Rapid Antigen test valid for 48 hours.

Concerning those in transit whose test results expire, they will be required to take either of the two tests at their own expense or the ship owner, if applicable.

Minors below 15 years old and persons over 65 years old are allowed to leave their local government units (LGUs) provided that they can present negative test results.

However, a special permit issued by the concerned LGU stating the purpose of travel will be asked as an additional requirement for the said minors.

Persons over 65 years old will also be asked to present a proof of employment or special permit issued by the LGU stating the purpose of travel.

The municipalities of San Fernando and Minglanilla, who have private ports, should regulate the same measures.

The Philippine National Police (PNP) as well as the Philippine Coast Guard (PCG) are directed to strictly implement the said provisions.

“What the coast guard will do is to contact their counterpart didto sa port of departure in order to implement the ‘No RT-PCR/No Antigen, No Boarding policy’,” said Garcia.

Concerned town mayors have also agreed to require the workers of cargo ships that arrive at the ports of entry to present negative test results as well.

For her part, San Fernando town Mayor Lakambini “Neneth” Reluya said they will be coordinating with their Bantay Dagat and barangay officials when it comes to buying or providing the needs of the workers.

She clarified that only one person in charge of a cargo ship is allowed to disembark should they want to go to the market, provided that a negative test result will be presented.


11 localities in Cebu province back to MECQ

Subscribe to our regional newsletter

By providing an email address. I agree to the Terms of Use and acknowledge that I have read the Privacy Policy.
Read Next

Disclaimer: The comments uploaded on this site do not necessarily represent or reflect the views of management and owner of Cebudailynews. We reserve the right to exclude comments that we deem to be inconsistent with our editorial standards.

TAGS: Cebu governor Gwendolyn Garcia, Cebu province, EO 38, MECQ, Rapid Antigen tests, RT-PCR test

Subscribe to our regional newsletter

By providing an email address. I agree to the Terms of Use and
acknowledge that I have read the Privacy Policy.

We use cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. By continuing, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more, please click this link.