cdn mobile

Rama-Garcia, Barug-PDP Laban win majority in Cebu City

By: Delta Dyrecka Letigio - CDN Digital | May 10,2022 - 06:35 PM

Barug-PDP Laban

Mayor Mike Rama is proclaimed winner in the May 2022 elections. CDN Digital photo | Delta Letigio

CEBU CITY, Philippines — Barug-PDP Laban took majority of the seats in Cebu City after the recent elections held on May 9, 2022.

As of 12 noon on May 10, 2020, Mayor-elect Michael Rama had 239,656 (40.85%) votes to win against Bando Osmeña Pundok Kauswagan’s (BOPK) Margarita Osmeña (202,446, 34.50%).

Vice Mayor-elect Raymond Garcia won by landslide with 283,235 (52.21 %) votes, beating BOPK’s Franklyn Ong (222,722, 41.06%) and independent candidate Francisco “Bimbo” Fernandez (36,444, 6.71%).

Barug-PDP Laban

Vice Mayor-elect Raymond Garcia with his family, including former Cebu City Mayor Alvin Garcia (in blue shirt). CDN Digital photo | Delta Letigio

In the South District, Congressman-elect Eduardo Rama had 168,123 (54.42%) votes to win against BOPK’s neophyte candidate, Rodrigo Bebot “BG” Abellanosa (141,076, 45.57%).

For South District councilors, 7 out of 8 slots went to Barug-PDP Laban with Donaldo Hontiveros garnering the most number of votes of all councilorial candidates with 191,138 (0.02%) votes. He will serve as the First Councilor of the city again for another term.

Together with him in the majority for South District are Councilors-elect Jocelyn Pesquera (142,651, 6.71%), Philip Zafra (141,686, 6.66%), Renato Osmeña, Jr. (136,288, 6.41%), James Cuenco (132,868, 6.25%), Rey Gealon (123,387, 5.80%), and Francis Esparis (120,914, 5.68%).

Only Jose Abellanosa of BOPK managed to grab a seat in the council with 148,667 (6.99%) votes.

In the North District, winning were Jerry Guardo (116,937, 6.72%), Joel Garganera (116,190, 6.68%), Edgardo “Jaypee” Labella, III (114,117, 6.56%), Noel Wenceslao (102,620, 5.9%), and Pastor “Jun” Alcover, Jr. (102,137, 5.87%)).

BOPK’s Nestor Archival leads in the North District with 125,485 (7.21%) votes and will remain with the minority floor along with Councilors-elect Mary Anne delos Santos (106,997, 6.15%) and Joy Augustus Young (105,791, 6.08%).

BOPK’s Rachel “Cutie” Delmar has maintained her hold of the North District with 117,512 (45.99%)  votes, leading by a margin  of 53,065 votes against Barug’s Prisca Niña Mabatid (64,447, 25.22%) and the rest of the congressional candidates.

No independent candidate won in Cebu City for this year’s polls.



Cebu City polls: Tumulak, Mabatid, Ong concede

Your subscription could not be saved. Please try again.
Your subscription has been successful.

Subscribe to our daily newsletter

By providing an email address. I agree to the Terms of Use and acknowledge that I have read the Privacy Policy.

Read Next

Disclaimer: The comments uploaded on this site do not necessarily represent or reflect the views of management and owner of Cebudailynews. We reserve the right to exclude comments that we deem to be inconsistent with our editorial standards.

TAGS: Barug-PDP Laban, Cebu city news, Cebu City politics, May 2022 elections, May 2022 polls, Mike Rama

We use cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. By continuing, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more, please click this link.