Didal named Athlete of the Year

By: Mars G. Alison - Correspondent/CDN Digital | March 01,2020 - 11:01 AM

The traditional class picture for the 37th SAC-SMB Cebu Sports Awards held Saturday, February 29, 2020, at the SM City Cebu. | Mars G. Alison

CEBU CITY, Philippines – Skateboarder Margielyn Didal was hailed as the Athlete of the Year (AOY) during the 37th Sportswriters Association of Cebu (SAC)-San Miguel Brewery (SMB) Cebu Sports Awards held on Saturday, February 29, 2020, at the lower ground floor of SM City Cebu.

Didal, who was a double gold medalist in the 30th Southeast Asian (SEA) Games in 2019,  was unanimously voted on by members of the Cebu sports media to be the AOY.

Aside from being the AOY, Didal was also a major awardee in the sport of skateboarding alongside Daniel Lederman, who also brought home a gold medal from the 2019 SEA Games.

The 37th SAC-SMB Cebu Sports Awards recognized the achievements of Cebuanos and Cebu-based athletes in 2019.

The awarding was dominated by SEA Games medalists and Batang Pinoy gold medalists.

Brianna Leverenz (L), guest speaker for the 37th SAC-SMB Cebu Sports Awards, with SAC past president Rico Navarro and Cebu marathon Olympian Mary Joy Tabal. | Mars G. Alison

Among the major awardees were Olympian Mary Joy Tabal and Natalie Rose Uy – athletics, Batang Pinoy golden boy Aldrener Ygot – archery, Dexter Bolambao – arnis, Junemar Fajardo and Gregg Slaughter – basketball, Rubilen Amit – billiards, Alexis Sy – bowling, Johnriel Casimero – boxing, Jerish velarde – chess, Niño Surban – cycling, Wilbert Aunzo and Pearl Marie Cañeda – dancesport, PADS Dragonboat Racing Team – dragon boat, Lois Kaye “LK” Go – golf, Team Adroit Dota – eSports, Daniela Reggie Dela Pisa – gymnastics, Kiyomi Watanabe – judo, Sarah Pangilinan – karatedo, William Go – karting, Team Toyota Cebu and Daniel Miranda – motorsport, Sherwin Managil – obstacle course racing, Auimi Ono – rugby, Metodio Suico and Jean Marie Sucalit – sepak takraw, Ditto Nestor Dinopol and Diogenes “Larry” Vila – shooting, Mary Ann Antolihao – softball, James Deiparine – swimming, Richard Gonzales – table tennis, Rinna Babanto and Aidaine Laxa – triathlon, Cherry Ann Rondina – beach volleyball, Raphael Trinidad – wakeboarding and Elreen Ann Ando and John Fabuar Ceniza – weightlifting.

Guest speaker for the event was Brianna Leverenz, a Magna Cum Laude graduate and swimmer at the University of Tennessee. She talked about how she balanced her studies and her sport and emerged triumphant in both.

San Miguel Brewery’s Girlie Garces (middle) with the members of the Sportswriters Association of Cebu (SAC) led by its president John Pages (4th from right) during the 37th SAC-SMB Cebu Sports Awards, Saturday February 29, 2020 at the SM City Cebu. | Photo taken by Cebu marathon Olympian Mary Joy Tabal

Other deserving athletes were also given special citations during the annual gathering. Recipients included Dr. Potenciano “Yong” Larrazabal III for conquering the Antarctic Ice Marathon last December.

Others special awardees were Jude Oliver Marie Rodriguez – arnis; Noel Tillor, Azlan Pagay and Prince Joey Lee – athletics; Southwestern University (SWU) Phinma Cobras, Sacred Heart School-Ateneo de Cebu (SHS-AdC) Magis Eagles, Sir Shaquille Imperial, Leobert Andrew “LA” Casinillo, University of the Visayas (UV) SBP and Team Cebu City/Abellana National School (ANS) – basketball; Isaac Bacarisas – baseball; Warren Kiamco – billiards; Rey Caitom Jr., Joe Noynay, Carlo Demecillo, Mark Vicelles, Dave Peñalosa, Patricia Mae Sumalinog and Bienjemar Codoy – boxing; Jonel Carcueva and John Mier – cycling; Crisologo Rendon – dancesport; Sugbu Mighty Dragons – dragon boat; Raya Tolentino, Maegan Alforque, Mia Evangelista, Roseton Bariñan and Dean Ebarle – football; Gen Nagai – golf; Leanne Marie Manning – gymnastics; Overlimit Jujitsu Academy – Jujitsu; Rhodee Antoinette Saavedra – karatedo; Sylvester Ramirez – motorsports; Jemarie Josh Ybañez, Zion Alexander Melecio and Buen Algono – muay thai; Rheyjey Ortouste – sepak takraw; Roygbiv Barro – shooting; Learjet Dela Cruz – scrabble; Jasper Cabrera and Jerome Bacarisas – softball; Jasmine Alkhaldi, Maxime Rooney and Raven Faith Alcoseba – swimming; Nica Garces – taekwondo; Arthur Craig Pantino, Tiffany Nocus and Chad Connor Cuizon – tennis; Moira Frances Erediano and CJ Lipura – triathlon and Floremel Rodriguez, Edmar Bonono, James Buytrago and Jobert Almodiel – volleyball. / dcb

Read Next

Disclaimer: The comments uploaded on this site do not necessarily represent or reflect the views of management and owner of Cebudailynews. We reserve the right to exclude comments that we deem to be inconsistent with our editorial standards.

TAGS: 37th SAC, Athlete of the Year, Cebu-based athletes, DIDAL, gold medalist, SMB

We use cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. By continuing, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more, please click this link.