84th Cebu City Charter Day: ‘Limited’ physical wreath laying and virtual celebration expected

By: Delta Dyrecka Letigio - CDN Digital Multi-Media Reporter | February 23,2021 - 05:14 PM

Cebu City Hall | CDN file photo

CEBU CITY, Philippines — For the first time, Cebu City will be celebrating its 84th Charter Day on February 24, 2021, in a virtual celebration.

Instead of the usual fanfare at the Cebu City Hall in the morning, the city government will only be conducting a limited wreath laying at the statue of former Senator Vicente Rama, considered as the “Father of the Cebu City Charter.”

The ceremony will be attended by Rama’s own grandson, Vice Mayor Michael Rama, and other officials of Cebu City.

It is not yet clear if Mayor Edgardo Labella can attend the ceremony because he is still recuperating from an ear infection in his home in Barangay Bacayan, but the City Historical Affairs Office (CHAO) said a representative of the mayor is sure to attend.

In the past, it was traditional for the city government to hold a celebration for the departments following the wreath laying with employees being awarded for their years of dedicated service.

However, for this year, Labella said all awardees will be included in the virtual gala night from 6 p.m. onwards.

“Duna tay himoon nga virtual program, online lang unya naa sa atong page sa Public Information Office og duha ka T.V. stations. The past weeks naa pud tay historical lectures,” said the mayor.

The city government will be awarding the indviduals and institutions that have contributed to the pandemic response in the past year.

Here is the list of the awardees for the 84th Cebu City Charted Day:


1. Cristina Lee Dino Foundation

2. Philippine Spring Water Resources, Inc. (PSWRI)

3. Bigfoot Studios

4. Cebu-Cordova Link Expressway Corporation (CCLEC)

5. SM Foundation, Inc.

6. Cebu Holdings, Inc.

7. Metro Pacific Tollways Corporation

8. Marino Partylist

9. Gokongwei Brothers Foundation

10. Jaime Ongpin Foundation

11. Aboitiz Group of Companies

12. Cebu Beautiful Movement Foundation

Esteemed Individuals

1. Lt. Gen. Roberto Ancan

2. Raquel Arce

3. Dr. Gerardo Aquino Jr.

4. Dr. Jaime Bernadas

5. Engr. Lowell Corminal

6. Ret. Major Gen. Melquiades Feliciano

7. Gen. Albert Ignatius Ferro

8. Councilor Joel Garganera

9. Councilor Donaldo “Dondon” Hontiveros

10. Col. Josefino Ligan

11. Dr. Bryan Albert Lim

12. Dr. Michelle Linsalata

13. Mr. Edmund Liu

14. Dr. Mary Jean Loreche

15. Grace Luardo

16. Atty. Mary Rose Lubino

17. Engr. Editha Peros

18. Atty. Jocelyn Pesquera

19. Councilor David “Dave” Tumulak

20. Councilor Phillip Zafra

Outstanding Department (small category):


Outstanding Department (big category):


Outstanding Department Head (big category):


Outstanding Department Head (small category):


Read Next

Disclaimer: The comments uploaded on this site do not necessarily represent or reflect the views of management and owner of Cebudailynews. We reserve the right to exclude comments that we deem to be inconsistent with our editorial standards.

We use cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. By continuing, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more, please click this link.