cdn mobile

List of tropical cyclones in 2024

By: Niña Mae C. Oliverio - Multimedia Reporter - CDN Digital | January 02,2024 - 02:18 PM

List of tropical cyclones in 2024

FILE PHOTO: Aerial view of downtown Cebu City taken on July 9, 2023. CDN Digital photo | Brian J. Ochoa

CEBU CITY, Philippines — Every year, the Philippine Atmospheric, Geophysical and Astronomical Services Administration (Pagasa) has been naming tropical cyclones that enter the Philippine Area of Responsibility (PAR).

It started around the 1960s when the state weather bureau started naming the tropical cyclones because no tropical cyclones have the same impact, according to Engineer Al Quiblat, chief of Pagasa-Mactan.

“Kinahanglan pud nato nga panghinganlan na siya para dili ta magngalan og numero,” he said.

(We need to name them so that we will not be naming them by numbers.)

EXPLAINER: The different categories of tropical cyclones

He added that naming the tropical cyclones was also in accordance with the standard of World Meteorological Organization’s (WMO) Typhoon Committee.

“Nisunod ta sa standard sa WMO nga ang ubang nasud nga naay puy pangalan sa bagyo. Dunay international name, duna puy local name,” Quiblat said.

(We follow the standard of the WMO that other nations also have their name of the typhoon. There is an international name and there is also a local name.)

Currently there are 25 names of tropical cyclones in accordance with the letters of the alphabet, and 10 auxiliary names.

READ: Pagasa sees amihan, easterlies to affect PH in next three days

Here are the names of the tropical cyclones that will enter PAR this year:

  1. Aghon
  2. Butchoy
  3. Carina
  4. Dindo
  5. Enteng
  6. Ferdie
  7. Gener
  8. Helen
  9. Igme
  10. Julian
  11. Kristine
  12. Leon
  13. Marce
  14. Nika
  15. Ofel
  16. Pepito
  17. Querubin
  18. Romina
  19. Siony
  20. Tonyo
  21. Upang
  22. Vicky
  23. Warren
  24. Yoyong
  25. Zosimo

READ: Metro Cebu expects fair weather until Jan. 6, says Pagasa-Mactan

Meanwhile, Pagasa also sets auxiliary names which will be used when the number of tropical cyclones exceeds 25.

Here are the auxiliary names for this year:

  1. Alakdan
  2. Baldo
  3. Clara
  4. Dencio
  5. Estong
  6. Felipe
  7. Gomer
  8. Heling
  9. Ismael
  10. Julio

Quiblat said that the average number of tropical cyclones that enter PAR every year would be 18 to 20.

According to Pagasa, since 1963, Pagasa and its predecessor, the Philippine Weather Bureau, has been assigning domestic names to tropical cyclones of at least tropical depression category within the PAR region.

ALSO READ: Stronger El Niño phenomenon in 2024 threatens 65 provinces — DOST

Your subscription could not be saved. Please try again.
Your subscription has been successful.

Subscribe to our daily newsletter

By providing an email address. I agree to the Terms of Use and acknowledge that I have read the Privacy Policy.

Read Next

Disclaimer: The comments uploaded on this site do not necessarily represent or reflect the views of management and owner of Cebudailynews. We reserve the right to exclude comments that we deem to be inconsistent with our editorial standards.

TAGS: NAMES, Pagasa, tropical cyclone

We use cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. By continuing, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more, please click this link.