Mandaue City set to crown new ambassadress from 16 beauty pageant hopefuls

By: Michelle Joy L. Padayhag April 01,2019 - 06:45 PM


These are the 16 ladies, who made the cut for the Miss Mandaue 2019 pageant. | Michelle Joy Padayhag

MANDAUE CITY, Philippines — The Mandaue City government will soon welcome a new ambassadress. 

Sixteen lovely ladies were presented as the official candidates of Miss Mandaue 2019 during a press conference for Mid-year Cultural Summit 2019 held at the Social Hall of Mandaue City on April 1, 2019.

Mandaue City Treasurer Regal Oliva said that only 16 ladies made it to the final cut after the screening of 37 applicants last February 15 and 16.

“I personally screened them. These are very intelligent ladies,” Oliva told reporters during the press conference. 

Making it to the official roster are Lorraine Hann, Kristine Gillamac, Rhean Caruana, R-Jane Lugod, Angel Mae Dakay, Rica Mae Pitogo, Mitzi Lorraine Ambrad, Aijeleth Borja, Christine Rudolph, Umayma Al Rawahi, Julienne Dabon, Charlotte Stuck, Jesselle Saniel, Angeli Navarro, Karla Lasquite, and Amanda Basnillo.

Read more: Miss Mandaue 2018 shares tips on winning the crown

The pre-pageant activities are also set in the upcoming days including Swimsuit Competition and Media Day (April 24) and Talent Competition (April 27). 

Coronation night will be on May 7 at the Mandaue Cultural and Sports Complex.

Winners will receive cash prizes from the Mandaue City government. Prizes up for grabs are P100,000 (Miss Mandaue 2019), P50,000 (first runner-up), and P30,000 (second runner-up). 

The Mandaue City government will also pay the Miss Mandaue 2019 winner’s full tuition for one year at any school located in Metro Cebu.

For first runner-up and second runner-up, the Mandaue City government will cover 75 percent and 50 percent of their tuition, respectively. 

Oliva said that the Mandaue City government will also support the Miss Mandaue 2019 winner in implementing the chosen advocacy. 

Read more: Nursing student wins Miss Mandaue 2018

Last year, Gabriella Ceniza Carballo, a nursing student from Cebu Doctor’s University (CDU), won the crown.

Her court were Nicole Borromeo (first runner-up) and Regine Garcia (second runner-up).

Carballo and her court have pushed the The Green Wave, an advocacy project about proper waste disposal. 

“The challenge for the (upcoming) Ms. Mandaue 2019 winner is not to leave after you win the cash prize,” Oliva said. 

Miss Mandaue has produced winners who joined national and international pageants.

Miss Mandaue 2008 Rizzini Gomez was crowned as Miss Tourism International 2012 in Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia.

Read more: Steffi Aberasturi: Her crowning glory

Miss Mandaue 2013 and Binibining Cebu 2018 Steffi Aberasturi won Reyna ng Aliwan 2014.

Miss Mandaue 2013 second runner-up Eva Psychee Patalinjug won Binibining Pilipinas Grand International 2018 and represented the country in Miss Grand International 2018 in Myanmar. 

 Binibining Pilipinas 2018 Top 25 Ena Louis Velasco was also crowned Miss Mandaue 2015 while her first runner-up Cynthia Thomalla won Miss Eco International 2018 in Egypt.

Read more: Three Cebuanas, one Negrense make the cut to Binibining Pilipinas 2019

At present, Miss Mandaue 2016 Malka Shaver and Miss Mandaue 2017 finalist Samantha Lo are part of Binibining Pilipinas 2019 competition. /dbs

Read Next

Disclaimer: The comments uploaded on this site do not necessarily represent or reflect the views of management and owner of Cebudailynews. We reserve the right to exclude comments that we deem to be inconsistent with our editorial standards.

TAGS: Carballo, mandaue, Miss Mandaue, Oliva

We use cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. By continuing, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more, please click this link.