USC routs UC in finals, becomes winningest football team in Cesafi 

By: Glendale G. Rosal - Multimedia Correspondent - CDN Digital | December 11,2023 - 02:43 PM

USC Warriors players and coaching staff pose for a group photo during the awarding. | Contributed photo

USC Warriors players and coaching staff pose for a group photo during the awarding. | Contributed photo

CEBU CITY, Philippines — The University of San Carlos (USC) Warriors is now the winningest Cebu Schools Athletic Foundation, Inc. (Cesafi) men’s football champion after clinching their ninth title last Sunday, December 10 at their home pitch in the USC Talamban Campus.

This was after they defeated the University of Cebu (UC) Webmasters, 3-0, in their finals match, to surpass the University of San Jose-Recoletos (USJ-R) Jaguars for winning the most Cesafi men’s football titles.

READ: DBTC Greywolves are Cesafi HS football three-peat champions

Most Valuable Player: Agot of USC

USC and USJ-R once tied in winning eight Cesafi men’s football title in history last year, but the former broke the deadlock last Sunday.

Besides that, the Warriors won their sixth straight Cesafi football title. 

Eventual “Most Valuable Player” Christian Vierh Agot led USC’s charge after scoring the first goal at the sixth minute. 

READ: USPF routs UP Cebu in Cesafi college football 

Gaspe made it 2 in second half for USC

In the second half, Areli Acuin Gaspe made it 2-0 from his 68th minute goal, while eventual “Best Midfielder” Ludwig Ryan Badayos finished off UC with an 81st minute goal. 

“We officially surpassed USJ-R to win the most Cesafi football title. We were tied at eight last year, but now, we have nine,” said USC’s head coach Jinggoy Roa. 

“The biggest factor for us this year was our more mature and stronger team. Last year, we had 25 rookies who didn’t have Cesafi experience, but now, they have the experience which was a big plus for us because they’ve matured already.” 

READ: Cesafi football: USC Warriors destroy UC Webmasters with 5-0 rout

Why USC won

Roa revealed that most of his players came from some of Cebu’s best high school football teams who tried out for the team last year, adding more firepower to their already formidable arsenal. 

“We’re very satisfied of winning the title, but we have to do more work to further improve, because we have to do good also sa (in) other tournaments like sa (the) PRISAA. The good thing is, our roster will be intact for the next two to three years,” added Roa. 

“For me, we were a fitter team physically. It helped that we’re playing in our home pitch also and the skills of the players also became a huge factor. We have a set of skillful players, plus I have my reliable coaching staff which helped me a lot. Made my job easier.”

READ: ‘Copa’ success encourages PFL expansion

Top scorer of the tourney

Despite falling short in the Cesafi men’s football tournament, USJ-R snagged one individual award from MC Maiko Silva who was named the “Top Scorer”.

Besides Agot and Badayos, two more players from USC received individual awards in Benedict Ross Tabar (best goalkeeper) and Nathan Gamaliel Bajarias (best defender). 

Your subscription could not be saved. Please try again.
Your subscription has been successful.

Subscribe to our daily newsletter

By providing an email address. I agree to the Terms of Use and acknowledge that I have read the Privacy Policy.

Read Next

Disclaimer: The comments uploaded on this site do not necessarily represent or reflect the views of management and owner of Cebudailynews. We reserve the right to exclude comments that we deem to be inconsistent with our editorial standards.

TAGS: uc webmasters, USC Warriors, USJ-R Jaguars

We use cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. By continuing, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more, please click this link.