cdn mobile

Moalboal, Barili are Mayor Cabaron inaugural volleyball champs

By: Glendale G. Rosal - CDN Digital Correspondent | May 06,2024 - 07:25 PM

Cabaron volleyball

Moalboal women’s volleyball team. |  Photos from Moalboal LGU/Janine Abenido

CEBU CITY, Philippines — Moalboal and Barili are the inaugural champions of the 1st Mayor Inocentes Cabaron Invitational Inter-town Volleyball Tournament after splitting the titles last Sunday, May 5, at the Moalboal Covered Court in Moalboal, Cebu.

The host team Moalboal ruled the women’s division by defeating Barili and earning the P50,000 cash prize.

Moalboal utilized its twice-to-beat perk to finish off Barili in their do-or-die showdown.

READ: Cash-rich Mayor Cabaron intertown twin sports tilts set in May

Behind Nesty Geonzon, Myline Yucada, and Vanessa Secuya, Barili won its first match with Moalboal, 25-22, 25-20, 15-25, 12-25, 15-13.

However, the home team headed by former University of San Jose-Recoletos (USJ-R) Lady Jaguars elite spiker Maybelle Cabaron led Moalboal in sealing the title-winning match, 25-12, 25-14, on Sunday.

READ: Moalboal, Ronda square off in Inocentes Cabaron volleyball tilt

Also putting on the winning efforts were her teammates Jasmine Omagac, Junabelle Gempero, Juliana Isabel Gabales, Mary Christine Rebano, Shellce dela Rita, Rayvinder Tarongoy, Jay Ann Tapales, Ivony Love Templado, Lyka Sabanal, Jishin Faith Omagac, and Precious May Domugho.

Cabaron volleyball

Barili men’s volleyball team. |  Photos from Moalboal LGU/Janine Abenido

Meanwhile, Barili made sure to snag a title after topping the men’s division by beating Moalboal, 20-25, 25-22, 25-22, 25-17.

The hard-fought victory netted Barili the P50,000 top purse.

READ: Mayor Cabaron volleyball tilt resumes on Saturday

“Team Moalboal is really a threat to us, but we just had the will to win,” said Aaron Beryl Ricaplaza who teamed up with Christian Karampatana for the champion team.

The rest of Barili’s title-winning squad were  Alfonzo Obtina, James Timagos, Franz Piala, Svens Daclan, Rachaelus Nemeno, John Bargamento, Demterio Sta. Ana, Jester Clyde Bayang, Lance Manego, Ryan Paler, John Cydric Bayang and John Paul Bulang.

Your subscription could not be saved. Please try again.
Your subscription has been successful.

Subscribe to our daily newsletter

By providing an email address. I agree to the Terms of Use and acknowledge that I have read the Privacy Policy.

Read Next

Disclaimer: The comments uploaded on this site do not necessarily represent or reflect the views of management and owner of Cebudailynews. We reserve the right to exclude comments that we deem to be inconsistent with our editorial standards.

TAGS: Barili, Mayor Inocentes Cabaron, Moalboal, volleyball

We use cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. By continuing, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more, please click this link.